Badge Badge Badge Badge

Changes to New Hampshire Annulment Laws

September 2, 2020

In 2020, the New Hampshire Legislature passed HB 1645 which, among other things, made certain changes to the current annulment statute.  Under the new law, the annulment period for any misdemeanor crime of domestic violence under RSA 631:2-b was increased to 10 years.  Because the annulment statute requires that the time frame for annulment be […]


Hampton Circuit Court Moves to New Location

March 20, 2019

If you have been living on the New Hampshire Seacoast for a long time, you may remember when the Hampton District Court was located in the historic Old Hampton Grammar School (and also one-time firehouse) at the corner of Winnacunnet Road and Academy Avenue in downtown Hampton. The old courthouse was closed in 2005 due to […]


What Is An Arraignment?

August 22, 2018

In New Hampshire, any person charged with a criminal offense will receive either a summons to appear in court, be released on bail pending his or her court appearance, or be detained pending his or her first court appearance.  A person released on bail will typically receive a “Bond in Criminal Case” form from a bail […]


How Does a Criminal Conviction Affect College Admissions?

August 14, 2018

For a number of years, the Common Application, a single form that students can fill out to apply to any college that uses it, required applicants to disclose any arrest, whether or not it resulted in a conviction.  However, the non-profit organization behind the Common App. has announced that, starting in 2019, it will no longer […]


Changes to New Hampshire Marijuana Laws

August 13, 2018

Since June 10, 2016, New Hampshire has sanctioned therapeutic cannabis (medical marijuana), and allows for up to 2 ounces of usable cannabis for a “qualifying patient.”  Effective September 16, 2017, New Hampshire decriminalized personal use amounts of marijuana (3/4 of an ounce or less), hashish (5 grams or less), and certain marijuana-infused products for persons over age […]


“Felonies First” Comes to Rockingham County

October 8, 2017

Effective October 1, 2017, Rockingham County will start using the new “Felonies First” rules.  Rockingham is the last of New Hampshire’s 10 counties to implement the new felony case procedures.  Felonies Frist began in January, 2016 in Cheshire and Strafford counties, and has been expanded to all New Hampshire counties over the past 22 months. Here are 4  important things to […]


NH Decriminalizes Some Marijuana Possession – 3 Important Things to Know

September 16, 2017

Effective September 16, 2017, possession of 3/4 of an ounce of marijuana or less will no longer be a crime in New Hampshire.  The new law, which decriminalizes small amounts of marijuana, merely lessens the penalties for possession – it does not make marijuana possession legal. Here are three important things to understand about this change […]


What is the penalty if I am convicted of a DWI in New Hampshire?

May 29, 2016

We understand that drunk driving cases can be confusing – the field tests, the alcohol testing machines, the whole process. One of the most important things to know is how a conviction for a DWI offense might affect you. For that reason, we have put together a reference guide that summarizes the penalties for several […]


NH Courts Begin Rolling Out “Felonies First”

January 14, 2016

Under the so-called “Felonies First” law, which became law in July of 2015, felony cases will be brought directly in the superior court, as opposed to the local circuit court where these charges were traditionally filed. This change eliminates preliminary “probable cause” hearings as a matter of right, and instead places with a superior court judge the determination of whether […]


“Should I Blow?”

October 10, 2015

Here’s a question we hear a lot: “Should I blow?” What You Need to Know about DWI Breath Tests in NH If you are arrested for DWI in NH, here is what you need to know: If you submit to a breath or blood tests, the result may be used against you at a DWI […]